It’s Not Just Me…..

 

When life seems so overwhelming, I try to stop and realize what I have done and how far I have come in the last three years. However, It’s not just me …it’s my family too Receiving a life changing diagnosis…particularly one with no cure sucks. There is no way to make that easier. However, as horrible as it was for me, it must have been just as bad for my loved ones. To watch someone you love hurting while you are helpless is one of the worst feelings to experience.
As loved ones, your life is turned upside down but you are expected to be strong. After all, you were not given a diagnosis that has changed the course of your life….or were you? Yes. You were. The life you planned and the person you planned it with is not the same. The family dynamic changes…especially between a husband and a wife. That word caregiver gets thrown at you. We always knew we would care for one another but this is not what we planned.
I have reached the point in the post where I give major kudos to my family, especially my husband. He has mastered the balance between the two. He has found ways to support me that have ultimately brought some unexpected good things into our life. (Yes – dancing ) As for my boys, I have tried to be just mom. Despite my efforts, my PD has been part of their lives and it has influenced who they have become and our family relationships. From where I’m standing, they are doing ok and I am incredibly proud of them.
Until next time, laugh a little harder, hug a little longer, and face whatever life brings….standing together side by side.

2 thoughts on “It’s Not Just Me…..

  1. Thank you, Lori. This was VERY helpful. I’m so focused on David, my job, and my grands that I forgot that I’m a person, too. I think I’m rather selfish, but perhaps I’m not as bad as I think.

    Keep writing! Great work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment